Turner Prize art winners Assemble to design new gallery for Goldsmiths

15 December 2015


Assemble, a London based architecture collective and winners of the Turner Prize 2015, are to design a new art gallery at Goldsmiths, University of London.

In May 2014 Goldsmiths held a nationwide competition to design an art gallery for their south east London campus, a venue that will run exhibitions, projects and residencies by leading artists and curators from the UK and abroad.

Professor Richard Noble, Head of the Department of Art at Goldsmiths, comments: "Goldsmiths are delighted that Assemble, who are designing our new gallery of contemporary art, have won the Turner Prize. This is a wonderful achievement, and testifies to the astonishing influence they've achieved in their short history as a collective. We wish them all the best.”

The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of work in the last twelve months. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.The collective were one of three Turner Prize 2015 nominees to have Goldsmiths connections – Bonnie Camplin is a Lecturer in Fine Art in the Department of Art, and Janice Kerbel both a Reader and a Fine Art graduate, having completed her MA with Goldsmiths in 1996.

If you are interested in studying art in the UK, then our Art and Design Service can help prepare you fully with portfolio preparation from a practicing art academic. Arrange your free consultation today.

UK University Events Back to news

SI-UK's service is fast, reliable and efficient - their consultants are specialists, working closely with all UK universities; through my consultants' advice, and application assistance I was able to get offers from top ranked universities.

Carla Termini King's College London, Accounting and Finance

  • university-college-london
  • manchester
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Leeds
  • sheffield
  • southampton
  • manchester
  • exeter
  • cardiff
  • loughborough
  • edinburgh
  • bristol
  • lancaster
  • durham
  • bath
  • york
  • st-andrews
  • sussex
  • nottingham
  • aberdeen